Resources

“Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt.”

—John Muir


RESOURCES FOR TEACHERS

RESEARCHING AND WRITING NONFICTION VIDEOS

THE FORT – Picture Book

ANIMAL ADAPTATIONS Picture Books

OTHER LESSON PLANS


RESOURCES FOR AUTHORS

Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators www.scbwi.org (and if you are a registered member, be sure to check out The Book: Essential Guide to Publishing for Children and the “Blueboard” Discussion Boards)

The Michelle Begley Mentor Programhttps://rmc.scbwi.org/mentor-program/ (for author and illustrator members of the Rocky Mountain chapter of SCBWI interested in a one-on-one mentorship to take their work to the next level)

Evelyn B. Christensen’s site – http://evelynchristensen.com/writers.html (there are many links to resources for writers including a list of educational markets for children’s writers)

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/ (information on grammar, punctuation, research and citation, and many other writing-related topics)

Writing Careers: The Business Behind Becoming an Authorhttps://www.zenbusiness.com/info/writing-careers/ (recommended to me by a young writer named Anne)

Money-Saving Guide for Authors and Writershttps://couponfollow.com/research/money-saving-guide-authors-writers/ (thanks Hanna for the resource!)


PRINT RESOURCES

  • Writing Irresistible Kidlit (Mary Kole)
  • The Writer’s Little Helper (James V. Smith, Jr.)
  • Creating Character Emotions (Ann Hood)
  • The Emotion Thesaurus (Angela Ackerman & Becca Puglisi)

BIODIVERSITY RESOURCES

California Academy of Sciences: Biodiversity Course – https://www.calacademy.org/biodiversity-course

Center for Biological Diversity – https://www.biologicaldiversity.org/about/story/

E.O. Wilson Biodiversity Foundation – https://eowilsonfoundation.org/

 


OTHER NATURE and ECOLOGY RESOURCES

nature – “the phenomena of the physical world collectively, including plants, animals, the landscape, and other features and products of the earth”

ecology “the branch of science concerned with the interrelationship of organisms and their environments”

Planet Earth and Planet Earth II Documentaries – Produced by BBC, Narrated by David Attenborough (available on DVD and on Netflix)

Smithsonian: Ocean – https://ocean.si.edu/

Racing Extinctionhttp://racingextinction.com/

IUCN Red List of Threatened Specieshttp://www.iucnredlist.org/

The Photo Arkhttps://www.nationalgeographic.org/projects/photo-ark/

NOAA Marine Debris Programhttps://marinedebris.noaa.gov/

Algalita Marine Research and Educationhttp://www.algalita.org/

Ocean Conservancyhttp://www.oceanconservancy.org

Water Education Foundationhttp://www.watereducation.org/

The Global Water Crisishttp://water.org/water-crisis/


EXPLORING MOUNTAINS

NOVA Online Adventure: Everesthttp://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/everest/

Climbing the Seven Summitshttp://climbingthesevensummits.com/


ANIMAL RIGHTS

4961127Farm Animal Rights Movementhttp://www.farmusa.org/

Mercy for Animalshttp://www.mercyforanimals.org/

North American Vegetarian Societyhttps://www.navs-online.org/

Why We Love Dogs, Eat Pigs, and Wear Cowshttp://www.carnism.org/carnism-presentations