Resources

 “Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt.”  

– John Muir

      Linkedin free icon   SCBWI

RESOURCES FOR TEACHERS:

LINKS FOR AUTHORS:

Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators – www.scbwi.org (and if you are a registered member, be sure to check out The Book: Essential Guide to Publishing for Children and the “Blueboard” Discussion Boards)

The Michelle Begley Mentor Program – https://rmc.scbwi.org/mentor-program/ (for author and illustrator members of the Rocky Mountain chapter of SCBWI interested in a one-on-one mentorship to take their work to the next level)

Evelyn B. Christensen’s site – http://evelynchristensen.com/writers.html (there are many links to resources for writers including a list of educational markets for children’s writers)

Writing for the Education Market – http://writingfortheeducationmarket.com/ (a great resource for finding freelance work in the education market)

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) – https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/ (information on grammar, punctuation, research and citation, and many other writing-related topics)

 

PRINT RESOURCES:

  • Writing Irresistible Kidlit (Mary Kole)
  • The Writer’s Little Helper (James V. Smith, Jr.)
  • Creating Character Emotions (Ann Hood)
  • The Emotion Thesaurus (Angela Ackerman & Becca Puglisi)

 

LINKS TO MY FAVORITE AUTHORS:

Jennifer Chambliss Bertman, Author –  http://www.jenniferchamblissbertman.com

Claudia Mills, Author – www.claudiamillsauthor.com

 

EXTINCTION RESOURCES:

Racing Extinction – http://racingextinction.com/

IUCN Red List of Threatened Species – http://www.iucnredlist.org/

The Photo Ark – https://www.nationalgeographic.org/projects/photo-ark/

 

ENVIRONMENTAL ISSUES RESOURCES:

NOAA Marine Debris Program – https://marinedebris.noaa.gov/

Algalita Marine Research and Education – http://www.algalita.org/

Ocean Conservancy – http://www.oceanconservancy.org

Water Education Foundation – http://www.watereducation.org/

The Global Water Crisis – http://water.org/water-crisis/

 

ONLINE IDENTITY RESOURCES:

StaySafeOnline.org – https://staysafeonline.org/

TED Talk by Sherry Turkle, “Connected, But Alone?” – https://www.ted.com/talks/sherry_turkle_alone_together?language=en

WIRED Magazine, “The Online Identity Crisis” – http://www.wired.com/insights/2014/11/the-online-identity-crisis/

 

Pirate Ship

ART HISTORY RESOURCES:

Google Cultural Institute –https://www.google.com/culturalinstitute/project/art-project

PBS Off Book – www.youtube.com/user/PBSoffbook?feature=watch

 Art Through Time – http://www.learner.org/courses/globalart/

 

INTERNET ADDICTION:

The Center for Internet Addictionhttp://netaddiction.com/

Video Game Addiction – http://americanaddictioncenters.org/video-gaming-addiction/

 

BULLYING:

The Bully Projecthttp://www.thebullyproject.com/

Cyberbullying Research Centerhttp://cyberbullying.us/

Bullying by the Numbers  –https://www.wristband.com/content/bullying_by_the_numbers_a_breakdown_of_bullying_s

Bullying and Cyberbullying Awarenesshttps://www.sleekwristbands.com/blog/bullying-awareness/

Cyberbullying: The New Online Crime – https://www.grabellaw.com/cyberbullying-the-new-online-crime.html

Cyber Security Tips for Teens – https://www.vodien.com/singapore-community/security/cyber-security-tips-teens.php

PACER’S National Bullying Prevention Programhttp://www.pacer.org/bullying/resources/info-facts.asp

A Teens Guide to Cyber Security (thank you to Peyton for finding this resource!) –https://www.hotspotshield.com/resources/teens-guide-to-cyber-security/

 

 

More Summer Fun 212EXPLORING MOUNTAINS:

NOVA Online Adventure: Everesthttp://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/everest/

Climbing the Seven Summitshttp://climbingthesevensummits.com/

 

ANIMAL RIGHTS:4961127

Farm Animal Rights Movementhttp://www.farmusa.org/

Mercy for Animalshttp://www.mercyforanimals.org/

North American Vegetarian Societyhttps://www.navs-online.org/

Why We Love Dogs, Eat Pigs, and Wear Cowshttp://www.carnism.org/carnism-presentations

 

KID-RELATED RESOURCES:

Children and Nature Connectionhttp://www.kidsnatureconnection.org

32 Things to Make Using a Cardboard Boxhttp://www.tipjunkie.com/all-crafts/32-things-to-make-using-a-cardboard-box-diy/